Home > General Discussion and express yourself > Five years after conversion to Islam

Five years after conversion to Islam

…in many ways, looking back on my conversion to Islam some five years ago– the grass was greener on the other side then as opposed to now (some patches of brown stuff now). What do I mean? Surely you’ve heard and used this saying before? But never have I realized it as much until now… it’s not about the grass anyway!

I feel more loved, in control of my thoughts, body, mind, spirit and place in the world now… I’m going to say it was because of the new outlook. People though, are people everywhere! No matter what race, creed or religion! Know yourself first. This can be difficult if we’re focused on the wrong things… sex, drugs and rock and roll, for example; although there is something to be said about a few of those things.

Have I figured it out yet? Not quite but I’ll surely let you know when I’m close!

  1. July 19, 2011 at 6:53 am

    Knowing thyself first, is important, and so is liking thyself. We may know who we are, but may not like what we see? I am happy for you my brother, if you are content and happy.

    • July 20, 2011 at 10:58 pm

      One step first bro… one foot in front of the other. As you know, we try to assimilate but are also forced to adapt to the social environment. We’re all a product of this process anyway. So happy has a context to it?

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

