Home > Music > Digital Audio Workstations (DAW) and making music

Digital Audio Workstations (DAW) and making music

I’ve been playing an instrument for quite some time and only recently started using DAWs to record my music. Prior to that I just played and give much thought to recording and arranging and stuff… what changed? The fact that as trumpet player, I can’t play with a band to get the sound I really want; I’m into jazz stuff– Miles, Louis, Clifford Brown, etc.

DAWs give that and much, much more! …from “cradle to grave”! Entering notes into sheet music, midi inputs and outputs, recording, mixing, effects, exports…

DAWs of choice; FL Studio 10 XXL Producer; Cubase5, Finale 2011… these ones I’m using; the others are also supposed to be good but the energy required to learn these DAWs makes to focus your efforts; Abelton 8, Cakewalk products…

Categories: Music
  1. July 19, 2011 at 6:54 am

    How do these compare with Garage Band?

    • July 20, 2011 at 10:55 pm

      Never heard of that? Tell me some more…

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

