Home > General Discussion and express yourself > The more you know…

The more you know…

It seems you can never learn enough! As many times as I’ve been told something like this, I’m still amazed when I learn something that’s new and really useful.

I had been struggling with some colleagues in a foreign country I’ve been in for a number of years. Being retired Navy, I have a way “handling” problems and roadblocks; Don’t get me wrong, I don’t burn bridges, but I also don’t always tread lightly either. We used to say back home in the day, “…come strong or stay at home”. In this culture, you might as well swat flies cause you’d have better luck!

Look, culture (beliefs, attitudes, education, religion, etc.) is everything and it effects and/or pervades your work product and ethic! My father used to say, “An apple don’t know to do nothin’ but fall straight down from the tree”! When I was young, it really didn’t that much–but I tell you now, my father’s really a smart man! Maybe he knows how to cut down an apple tree?

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

